Department of Immigration announced:
From 24 November 2012 the following visa subclasses will no longer be open to new applicants:

  • Government Agreement (Subclass 406) visa
  • Exchange (Subclass 411) visa
  • Foreign Government Agency (Subclass 415) visa
  • Visiting Academic (Subclass 419) visa
  • Sport (Subclass 421) visa
  • Medical Practitioner (Subclass 422) visa
  • Media and Film Staff (Subclass 423) visa
  • Domestic Worker (Temporary) – Diplomatic or Consular (Subclass 426) visa
  • Domestic Worker (Temporary) – Executive (Subclass 427) visa
  • Religious Worker (Subclass 428) visa
  • Occupational Trainee (Subclass 442) visa
  • Professional Development (Subclass 470) visa.

Applicants who were previously eligible for the visas listed above may be eligible for one of the following five visa subclasses:

  • Temporary Work (Long Stay Activity) (Subclass 401) visa
  • Training and Research (Subclass 402) visa
  • Temporary Work (International Relations) (Subclass 403) visa
  • Temporary Work (Entertainment (Subclass 420) visa
  • Temporary Work (Skilled) (Subclass 457) visa.

There will also be changes from 24 November 2012 to the way the following visas operate:

  • Entertainment (Subclass 420) visa
  • Business (Long Stay) (Subclass 457) visa.
Changes in some temporary work visas
Give us 5 stars if you like it

Related Post

Sponsoring Employees from Overseas Sponsoring Employees from Overseas With the growing demand for skilled workers, employers are increasingly looking overseas for staff. The Subclass 4...
Work and Holiday visas for new countries On 13 November 2012 Minister for Immigration and Citizenship Chris Bowen has announced that Australia will begin talks with the governments of the Cze...
Migration to Australia. Changes in Skilled Visas p... Australian government is finally introducing changes to it's Skilled Visas Migration to Australia programm. The 2015 year is shaping up to be a year ...
Longer Tourist Visas for Parents of Australians Since 24 November 2012, parents of Australian citizens and permanent residents have been able to apply for Tourist (Subclass 676) visas to visit Austr...